Blogging Assignment #4: Tourist Attractions In British Columbia

 

Our QuadBlogging friends will be visiting your blogs very soon to interact with you and your writing.  Before they do that I would like to squeeze in one more blogging assignment.  I would like the theme of your next blog entry to be British Columbia.  We live in a stunningly beautiful province in one of the safest and most desirable countries in the world.  We are very lucky.  In this post I would like you to…

 

  • I would like you to select and write about at least 2 different tourist attractions in BC
  • For each attraction, I would like you to add an image or video, and a link for readers to get more information
  • I would like to to explain in at least one sentence what the attraction is
  • I would like you to include the town and the city, in BC, where your attraction is located.  (bonus marks if you add a map)
  • I would also like you to add the date or dates which the event takes place
  • If there is an entry fee you should also include the cost
  • After each attraction I would like to explain, in at least 3 full-sentences, why you chose the attraction you did
The following website will help you find information on attractions:
Here is one tourist attraction example:

Barkerville

 

Barkerville Historic Town is a tourist attraction located in Barkerville, British Columbia Canada.  Barkerville Historic Town recreates the community of an old Gold Rush town from the 1800’s.  All the buildings, the stores are reproductions of what the town looked like in 1800.  Spending time in the town is like stepping back in time.  The attraction is often used by school groups to give them an understanding of what it might have looked like to live and go to school in the 1800’s.

 


View Larger Map

 

 

The cost of admission for an adult is $15 and $4.75 for a child aged between 6-12.  Barkerville is open to the public between May and December each year. It is open to school groups between the months of may and June, each year.

 

Some of the attractions you can experience while in Barkerville are:

  1. Experience a school from the 1800’s
  2. Spend time with the town’s blacksmith
  3. Visit Canada’s oldest Chinatown
I have never been to Barkerville, but it is on my list of places to visit in BC.  The main reason I look forward to visiting Barkerville, is I have a fascination with the Gold Rush era.  It was a time of great prosperity, adventure, and exploration.  The second reason is that I live a fast-paced life and the thought of living a slower life, like most people did in the 1800’s, is desirable for me.  Lastly, I like the way people dressed in the 1800’s.  Men wore smart suits with top hats, and women for long flowing, frilly, dresses.  I would enjoy dressing in smart suits and top hats.

 

 

 

1 thought on “Blogging Assignment #4: Tourist Attractions In British Columbia

  1. Number Four post blogging seems much more harder the the last three. But I can’t wait to do it and get to learn some more things about B.C. And I hope that you get your dream to go to Barkerville.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back To Top
Skip to toolbar